Return to site

Literacy Lighthouses

Connecting with innovative literacy thinkers and authors

Featuring some of my favorite literacy thinkers, check out these websites. I will refine this collection over time (and I sincerely apologize as I know I am already leaving out too many treasures here - I promised some colleagues to get the list started tonight but much more to come.). So, please check back for more edifying connections. Joyful reading, writing, and thinking!

Carol Wilcox http://carolwscorner.blogspot.com.au

Ralph Fletcher http://ralphfletcher.com

Stevi Quate and John McDermott https://clockwatchersquatemcd.wikispaces.com

Nancy Johnson http://www.nancyjjohnson.com

Don Graves http://www.heinemann.com/authors/998.aspx

Penny Kittle http://pennykittle.net/

Sharon Taberksi http://allaboutcomprehension.blogspot.nl

Shelley Harwayne https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=E4AtqyHpGws

Sara Holbrook http://www.saraholbrook.com

Michael Salinger http://www.michaelsalinger.com

Vicki Vinton https://tomakeaprairie.wordpress.com

Dorothy Barnhouse https://www.stenhouse.com/authors/dorothy-barnhouse 

Georgia Heard http://www.georgiaheard.com

Cris Tovani http://tovanigroup.com

Bonnie Campbell Hill and Carrie Ekey http://www.bonniecampbellhill.com; http://www.carrie-ekey.com

Kelly Gallagher http://www.kellygallagher.org/

Doug Fisher https://fisherandfrey.com/

Donalyn Miller https://bookwhisperer.com/

Nell Duke http://www.soe.umich.edu/people/profile/duke_nell/

Jeff Anderson http://www.writeguy.net/

Lester Laminack http://www.lesterlaminack.com/

Carl Anderson http://www.heinemann.com/products/E01201.aspx

Matt Glover http://mattglover.com

P. David Pearson https://gse.berkeley.edu/people/p-david-pearson

Stacey Shubitz and Betsy Hubbard - Two Writing Teachers: https://twowritingteachers.org

A Year of Reading http://readingyear.blogspot.com

Guys Read http://guysread.com

The Public Education and Business Coalition https://www.pebc.org

Teachers College Reading and Writing Project http://readingandwritingproject.org

Choice Literacy https://www.choiceliteracy.com

News Literacy Project http://www.thenewsliteracyproject.org

National Council of Teachers of English http://www.ncte.org

International Literacy Association (formerly IRA): http://www.literacyworldwide.org

American Library Association http://www.ala.org

INDEPENDENT READING

"Making Independent Reading Work" by Barbara Moss

http://www.literacyworldwide.org/blog/literacy-daily/2016/02/18/making-independent-reading-work?utm_source=TW-01032017&utm_medium=email&utm_campaign=ThisWeek&utm_content=PopularOn-2

"Examining and Changing Our Reading Habits" by Gravity Goldberg

http://www.literacyworldwide.org/blog/literacy-daily/2016/11/02/examining-and-changing-our-reading-habits?utm_source=TW 01032017&utm_medium=email&utm_campaign=ThisWeek&utm_content=PopularOn-3

Additional Professional Resources, Links, and Tools:

I have created several literacy-focused Padlets to offer numerously updated reading, writing, workshop model, literacy coaching, and thinking strategy resources to ISS school colleagues. If you would like access to these Padlets, please email me: lbenson@iss.edu

All Posts
×

Almost done…

We just sent you an email. Please click the link in the email to confirm your subscription!

OKSubscriptions powered by Strikingly